“Nous recherchions un partenaire disposant de véritables références internationales pour soutenir l’aspiration de Waystone à devenir le leader mondial des services de gouvernance, de risque et de conformité des fonds. Nous avons noué une relation solide avec Rich, Rob et Amar avant la transaction, et il est rapidement apparu qu’ils étaient les partenaires dont nous avions besoin. Plus important encore, le niveau d’accompagnement dont nous avons bénéficié pendant l’investissement a été à la hauteur des promesses qui nous avaient été faites, voire plus.”

Derek Delaney, CEO de Waystone

Waystone

waystone.com
Réalisation partielle du patrimoine pour les actionnaires fondateurs et capital développement pour soutenir la croissance organique et par acquisitions à l’international.

L’entreprise

Waystone est le principal fournisseur de services de gouvernance institutionnelle, de gestion de risque et de conformité pour le secteur de la gestion d’actifs.

L’opération

Après la crise financière de 2007/08, les gestionnaires d’actifs ont assisté à une multiplication des exigences en matière de gouvernance, de gestion des risques et de conformité, matérialisées par un durcissement de la réglementation. Initialement reconnu comme un fournisseur de services gouvernance pour les fonds spéculatifs américains, Waystone a vu l’occasion de devenir un leader mondial spécialisé dans les services de conformité de fonds plus larges. Après avoir étendu ses activités au marché irlandais des gestionnaires de fonds alternatifs en 2015, Waystone avait besoin d’un partenaire pour accélérer ses projets d’expansion européens.

En 2019, MML a investi aux côtés de l’un des fondateurs et de l’équipe de direction en place en prenant une participation de 50 %. Cet investissement a permis la sortie complète d’un cofondateur passif, la réduction de son exposition pour l’autre, et a permis à l’équipe de direction de bénéficier de la création de valeur future. Au cours de la période 2019- 2021, MML a aidé l’entreprise à réaliser deux fusions importantes et sept acquisitions stratégiques plus petites au Luxembourg, en Irlande, au Royaume-Uni, en Suisse, au Moyen-Orient et en Asie. Cette activité de fusion et d’acquisition, combinée à une croissance organique de 30 %, au lancement de nouveaux produits, au développement technologique et à une intégration solide ont permis à l’entreprise de devenir l’acteur institutionnel mondial par excellence dans les services aux fonds alternatifs.

La sortie

MML a soutenu la transformation de Waystone qui a permis au groupe de conquérir le marché naissant des ManCo (société d'hébergement et de services pour les sociétés de gestion) en Europe et de s'étendre au Moyen-Orient et en Asie pour devenir le seul acteur d'envergure mondiale sur son marché. Après avoir identifié la remarquable opportunité que représentait le positionnement de Waystone, nous avons aidé l'équipe de management, extrêmement talentueuse et motivée, à atteindre ses ambitions dans ce marché en forte accélération. Au cours de notre investissement, la société a triplé ses effectifs à plus de 500 personnes, a quadruplé son chiffre d'affaires et a multiplié son EBITDA par six tout en investissant significativement dans le développement de technologies de pointe et dans un centre d'excellence opérationnelle situé à Cashel, en Irlande. En 2021, MML a cédé sa participation via un LBO secondaire mené par Montagu Private Equity, dégageant ainsi un retour sur investissement de 11x et un TRI de 164%. Waystone est l'un des investissements les plus importants et les plus fructueux  de MML et a permis de retourner aux LPs 100% du fonds MML Partnership Capital Fund VI en un seul deal.

Fonds
Partnership
Région
Europe
Statut de l'opération
Cédée
Secteur
Services financiers

Rencontre avec le CEO, Derek Delaney, 18 mois après l’investissement.

Comment êtes-vous venu à choisir MML pour votre partenaire ?

Nous étions dans une situation assez complexe lorsque Waystone a pris la décision de chercher un partenaire. Nous avions deux actionnaires fondateurs, dont l’un voulait se retirer tandis que l’autre voulait partiellement réduire son risque, et une entreprise qui avait besoin d’un investisseur capable de faire abstraction du “trouble” pour apprécier la valeur implicite de ce que nous faisions. Il nous a fallu plus d’un an pour trouver le bon partenaire, et notre choix s’est finalement porté sur MML, car ils ont été en mesure d’élaborer une structure sur mesure qui a résolu toutes ces complexités. Par ailleurs, ses ressources internationales sur le terrain nous ont mis dans les meilleures conditions pour saisir les possibilités du marché.

Qu’en est-il aujourd’hui ?

Il est difficile d'imaginer que MML n'a investi qu’en août 2019. Depuis lors, nous avons l’impression d’avoir tout réalisé : réalisation et intégration de neuf transactions et d’un désinvestissement, construction d’un centre d’excellence en Irlande, renforcement de la direction générale de l’entreprise et poursuite de la croissance organique à plus de 30 % par an. Il n’a pas été facile de réaliser une croissance à ce rythme, mais l’équipe de MML a été d’un soutien formidable en termes d'exécution en nous donnant la stabilité et nous plaçant devant le défi d’exécuter nos plans ambitieux.

Nouvelles connexes

Waystone exit completes delivering 11x return
MML completes the exit of one of its largest and most successful ever investments, Waystone, a global leader in fund governance and compliance services.
MML exits Waystone in landmark transaction
MML Capital Partners (“MML”) has signed an agreement to exit its investment in Waystone to Montagu Private Equity.
Waystone completes its ninth transaction and expands into the US, Singapore and the Middle East
We are delighted our portfolio company, Waystone, has announced the creation of a new compliance offering via the merger of four companies to create Waystone Compliance Solutions.
Waystone emerges from merger of DMS, MontLake and MDO
DMS, MontLake and MDO have come together along with previous acquisitions to form Waystone, a business uniquely designed to address the increasingly complex needs of today's governance industry.
MML supports DMS to complete its fifth transaction under MML’s investment
DMS Governance (“DMS”) is delighted to announce the acquisition of Azienda Financial Services (“Azienda”), a well-established and independent corporate services provider, based in Luxembourg. Azienda specialises in administering investment structures for private equity, real estate and structured finance investments.

Équipe d’investissement associée

Richard Mayers

Partner
Europe

Robert Devonshire

Partner
Europe

Amar Shanghavi

Investment Director
Europe

Bal Johal

co-CEO
Europe

MML investor portal logins

For investors in MML Fund VI, MML Ireland I & MML Ireland II

For investors in MML Fund VII

Connexions au portail des investisseurs MML

Pour les investisseurs aux MML Fund VI, MML Irland I et MML Ireland II

Pour les investisseurs au MML Fund VII

“We wanted a partner with genuine international credentials to help support Waystone’s aspiration to become the global leader in fund governance, risk and compliance services. We built a strong relationship with Rich, Rob and Amar prior to the transaction, and it quickly became clear they were the right partners for us. More importantly, the level of support we received during the investment was everything that was promised and more.”

Derek Delaney, CEO, Waystone

Waystone

waystone.com
Partial realisation to founder shareholders and growth capital to support international organic and acquisitive growth.

The business

Waystone is the leading provider of institutional governance, risk and compliance services to the asset management industry.

The deal

Post the 2007/08 financial crash, the demands on asset managers for more sophisticated governance, risk management and compliance grew exponentially to meet increasingly complex regulation. Originally established as a governance provider to US hedge funds, Waystone saw the opportunity to build a global leader in broader fund compliance services. Having expanded into the Irish AIFM market in 2015, Waystone required a partner to accelerate its European expansion plans.

In 2019, MML invested alongside one of the founders and the incumbent management team for a 50% stake. This investment provided a full exit for a passive co-founder, an element of de-risking for the other, and put sweet equity into the hands of the management team driving growth. Over the course of 2019 – 2021, MML helped the business effect two transformational mergers and seven smaller strategic acquisitions across Luxembourg, Ireland, the UK, Switzerland, the Middle East and Asia. This M&A activity, alongside organic growth of 40%, new product launches, investment in proprietary technology and robust integration helped the business become the standout institutional global player in fund services.

The exit

MML supported the transformation of Waystone to successfully disrupt the nascent European ManCo market and expand into the Middle East and Asia to become the standout global provider of scale. Having identified the significant market opportunity, we backed an extremely talented and hungry management team to achieve their ambitions in a fast-growing market. Over the course of our investment, Waystone tripled its headcount to 500 people, quadrupled its revenue and grew EBITDA six-fold whilst making significant investment into market-leading proprietary technology and an operational centre of excellence in Cashel, Ireland. In 2021 MML exited its investment via a secondary buyout led by Montagu Private Equity delivering an 11x / 164% IRR return. Waystone is one of MML’s largest and most successful investments and returned 100% of MML Partnership Capital Fund VI in a single deal.

Fund
Partnership
Region
Europe
Deal Status
Realised
Sector
Financial Services

Catch up with CEO, Derek Delaney, 18 months post investment.

How did you choose MML to be your partner?

When Waystone decided to look for a partner, our situation was quite complex. We had two founder shareholders, one of whom wanted to exit and one of whom wanted to partially de-risk, and a business that required an investor to look through the "noise" to see the implicit value in what we were doing. It took us over a year to find the right partner, but we ultimately chose MML as they were able to craft a bespoke structure which resolved all these complexities and their international “boots on the ground” gave us the right platform to take advantage of the market opportunity.

What is the story so far?

It is hard to believe MML only invested in August 2019. Since then, it feels like we have done it all, including completing and integrating nine transactions and a divestment, built a centre of excellence in Ireland, enhanced the senior leadership in the business and continued to grow organically at over 30% per year. Growing at this pace has been tough, but the MML team have been fantastic support in terms of “getting it done” and giving us the structure and challenge to help us execute our ambitious plans.

Related news

Waystone exit completes delivering 11x return
MML completes the exit of one of its largest and most successful ever investments, Waystone, a global leader in fund governance and compliance services.
MML exits Waystone in landmark transaction
MML Capital Partners (“MML”) has signed an agreement to exit its investment in Waystone to Montagu Private Equity.
Waystone completes its ninth transaction and expands into the US, Singapore and the Middle East
We are delighted our portfolio company, Waystone, has announced the creation of a new compliance offering via the merger of four companies to create Waystone Compliance Solutions.
Waystone emerges from merger of DMS, MontLake and MDO
DMS, MontLake and MDO have come together along with previous acquisitions to form Waystone, a business uniquely designed to address the increasingly complex needs of today's governance industry.
MML supports DMS to complete its fifth transaction under MML’s investment
DMS Governance (“DMS”) is delighted to announce the acquisition of Azienda Financial Services (“Azienda”), a well-established and independent corporate services provider, based in Luxembourg. Azienda specialises in administering investment structures for private equity, real estate and structured finance investments.

Associated deal team

Richard Mayers

Partner
Europe

Robert Devonshire

Partner
Europe

Amar Shanghavi

Investment Director
Europe

Bal Johal

co-CEO
Europe

MML investor portal logins

For investors in MML Fund VI, MML Ireland I & MML Ireland II

For investors in MML Fund VII