“Notre seul objectif était de trouver le partenaire idéal pour soutenir la croissance de CSI. Aujourd’hui, 4 ans plus tard, nous restons convaincus que MML est le partenaire idéal, et l’accompagnement de Luke et Rob a été exceptionnel.”

Alan Watkins, président exécutif, CSI

CSI

csiltd.co.uk
Restructuration de l’actionnariat et constitution du capital-développement pour soutenir la future croissance organique et par acquisition.

L’entreprise

Des services de cloud hybride axés sur la modernisation des charges de travail essentielles, complexes et réglementées, avec une protection et une sécurité des données spécialisées. 

L’opération

CSI a été fondée par de vieux routiers du secteur Alan Watkins et Kevin Lewis, qui ont développé l’entreprise par le biais de leur véhicule d’investissement Blackhawk Capital. Lorsque MML leur a été proposée, Alan et Kevin ne souhaitaient pas vendre mais plutôt prendre du recul par rapport à leurs rôles exécutifs. MML a contribué à faciliter leur transition vers le statut d’administrateurs non exécutifs, ainsi qu’une réduction partielle des risques, et a financé d’autres fusions et acquisitions pour faire évoluer la proposition de valeur. Depuis l’investissement de MML, une nouvelle équipe de direction a été mise en place (CEO, COO, CFO et CRO) et CSI a réalisé trois acquisitions hautement stratégiques, renforçant ainsi ses capacités dans le domaine de la protection des données et dans des secteurs spécialisés tels que les services financiers, les soins de santé et le commerce électronique, tout en facilitant son expansion aux États-Unis.

Fonds
Partnership
Région
Europe
Statut de l'opération
En cours
Secteur
TMT

Rencontre avec le président fondateur, Alan Watkins, et le CEO, Simon Fisk.

Quelle lecture faites-vous de l’évolution du marché et la proposition de CSI ?

Alan : Au début, il était question de se spécialiser vers une offre complètes de services d'infogérance, car les clients cherchaient à sous-traiter l’exploitation d’un plus grand nombre de leurs environnements informatiques clés. Au moment où MML a investi, l’accent a été mis sur le cloud et sur la création d’une offre multiplateforme capable de migrer et d’exécuter en toute sécurité les éléments complexes et essentiels à partir du cloud privé ou public. Ce service reste notre cœur de métier, mais parallèlement, nous avons réalisé un excellent travail d’amélioration de nos capacités de modernisation alors que les clients n’ont de cesse de demander des innovations numériques et un fonctionnement flexible.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a attiré chez CSI ?

Simon : Le marché du cloud et des services infogérés est énorme mais relativement bondé de fournisseurs, d’où l’importance de se démarquer. J’ai été attiré par CSI en raison de sa spécialisation et de ses références dans les services cloud et de données axés sur des environnements très complexes. Par exemple, cette entreprise a fait ses preuves dans la migration et l’exécution d’applications bancaires réglementées dans le cloud public, en partenariat avec les principaux FS et ISV du secteur de la santé pour faire évoluer les anciennes applications des entreprises clientes, vers des solutions SAAS et concevoir et exécuter la solution d’infrastructure pour développer l’un des vaccins contre la COVID.

Qu’est-ce qui vous rend enthousiaste quant à l’avenir ?

Simon : En bref, tirer le meilleur parti des opportunités qui s’offrent à nous. C’est très important étant donné le niveau de migration et de modernisation à franchir dans nos principaux domaines d’expertise en matière d’applications et d’infrastructures, ainsi que dans nos relations avec les éditeurs de logiciels indépendants et dans notre partenariat stratégique avec IBM, où nous sommes tout à fait en phase avec le programme de modernisation de Red Hat. C’est d’autant plus nécessaire au regard de la taille et de la fragmentation de notre marché principal au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis.

Nouvelles connexes

MML backed CSI Group bolsters its North American offering
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired APSU Inc (www.apsuinc.com), based in, Tennessee.
MML backed CSI Group acquires Data Protection Specialist Tectrade
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired Tectrade (www.tectrade.com), a leading provider of data protection solutions.
MML backed CSI Group acquires Cloud Solutions Provider Niu Solutions
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired 100% of the shareholding of Niu Solutions (www.niu-solutions.com), a leading provider of agile, flexible and secure cloud solutions to regulated industries.
MML partners with IT managed service provider CSI
MML Capital Partners (“MML”) has invested £36m into CSI, a leading IT Managed Service provider to the attractive and fast growing UK mid-market.

Équipe d’investissement associée

Luke Jones

Managing Partner - Enterprise
Europe

Robert Devonshire

Partner
Europe

Christian Brown

Investment Manager
Europe

MML investor portal logins

For investors in MML Fund VI, MML Ireland I & MML Ireland II

For investors in MML Fund VII

Connexions au portail des investisseurs MML

Pour les investisseurs aux MML Fund VI, MML Irland I et MML Ireland II

Pour les investisseurs au MML Fund VII

“Our sole focus was finding the right partner, to support the growth of CSI. Now, 4 years on, we remain convinced that MML is the right partner, and the support of Luke and Rob has been exceptional”

Alan Watkins, Executive Chairman, CSI

CSI

csiltd.co.uk
Shareholder re-organisation and growth capital to support future organic and acquisitive growth.

The business

Hybrid cloud services focused on modernising critical, complex and regulated workloads with specialist data protection and security capabilities. 

The deal

CSI was founded by industry veterans Alan Watkins and Kevin Lewis who scaled the business through their investment vehicle Blackhawk Capital. At the time MML were introduced, Alan and Kevin did not want to sell but were looking to step back from executive roles. MML helped facilitate their transition to NEDs, alongside a partial de-risking, and supported further M&A to evolve the proposition. Since MML's investment, a new executive team has been brought in (CEO, COO, CFO and CRO) and CSI has made three highly strategic acquisitions, enhancing its capabilities across data protection and specialised industries including financial services, healthcare and e-commerce, as well as facilitating its US expansion.

Fund
Partnership
Region
Europe
Deal Status
Current
Sector
TMT

Catch-up with Founder Chairman, Alan Watkins, and CEO, Simon Fisk.

What are your key observations in how the market and CSI’s proposition has evolved?

Alan - In the early years it was all about shifting the focus to a full managed services proposition as clients looked to outsource the running of more of their key IT environments. By the time MML invested, the focus was very much cloud and creating a multi-platform offering that could safely migrate and run the complex and critical from the private or public cloud. This remains our core but alongside that we have done a great job of enhancing our modernisation capabilities as the demands from clients to digitally innovate and operate flexibly, on-demand continues to surge.

What attracted you to CSI?

Simon - The cloud and managed service market is huge, but it is a relatively crowded space, so differentiation is key. I was attracted to CSI given its specialism and credentials in cloud and data services focussed on highly complex environments. For example, this is a business with a track record in migrating and running regulated banking applications in the public cloud, partnering with global leading FS and healthcare ISVs to move enterprise clients off core legacy applications to SAAS solutions and even designing and running the infrastructure solution for developing one of the Covid vaccines.

What are you most excited about looking forward?

Simon - In short, capitalising on the opportunity in front of us. It’s very significant given the level of migration and modernisation still to take place in our core areas of application and infrastructure expertise along with our ISV relationships and strategic partnership with IBM, where we are very much aligned with Red Hat’s modernisation agenda. This is compounded when you take account of the size and fragmentation of our core market across the UK and US.

Related news

MML backed CSI Group bolsters its North American offering
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired APSU Inc (www.apsuinc.com), based in, Tennessee.
MML backed CSI Group acquires Data Protection Specialist Tectrade
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired Tectrade (www.tectrade.com), a leading provider of data protection solutions.
MML backed CSI Group acquires Cloud Solutions Provider Niu Solutions
CSI Group (www.csiltd.co.uk) has acquired 100% of the shareholding of Niu Solutions (www.niu-solutions.com), a leading provider of agile, flexible and secure cloud solutions to regulated industries.
MML partners with IT managed service provider CSI
MML Capital Partners (“MML”) has invested £36m into CSI, a leading IT Managed Service provider to the attractive and fast growing UK mid-market.

Associated deal team

Luke Jones

Partner
Europe

Robert Devonshire

Partner
Europe

Christian Brown

Investment Associate
Europe

MML investor portal logins

For investors in MML Fund VI, MML Ireland I & MML Ireland II

For investors in MML Fund VII